Kigali Agreement Countries

The Kigali Agreement is an international treaty that seeks to phase out the use of hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs). HFCs are greenhouse gases that contribute to climate change. The Kigali Agreement was adopted on October 15, 2016, in Kigali, Rwanda, by 197 countries, including the United States, China, and India.

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer is a legally binding agreement that aims to reduce the production and consumption of HFCs. It sets a timetable for reducing HFC use in developed countries by 85% by 2036 and in developing countries by 80% by 2045. The agreement also includes provisions to support developing countries in the transition to climate-friendly technologies.

The Kigali Agreement has been hailed as a major milestone in the global fight against climate change. By reducing the use of HFCs, the agreement could prevent up to 0.5°C of global warming by the end of the century. It could also help to avoid up to 80 billion tonnes of CO2 equivalent emissions by 2050.

Many countries have already started to implement measures to comply with the Kigali Agreement. For example, the European Union has adopted regulations to phase out HFCs in various sectors, such as air conditioning and refrigeration. China has also set targets to reduce the production and consumption of HFCs by 2023.

In the United States, the Kigali Agreement was supported by the Obama administration, but the Trump administration withdrew the country from the agreement in 2019. However, many U.S. states and businesses have committed to continuing to reduce HFC use, regardless of federal policy.

In conclusion, the Kigali Agreement is an important international treaty that seeks to reduce the use of HFCs and curb climate change. With the support of many countries around the world, the agreement has the potential to significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions, prevent global warming, and promote the transition to sustainable technologies.